Event 1

(Rileys, Plymouth)

Lee Halling Wins Open Handicap

WEBSF Open Handicap Event 1 Winner Nov 2011
WEBSF Open Handicap Event 1 Winner


November 2011
Twenty seven snooker players from around the county travelled to Rileys, Plymouth to compete in the West of England Billiards & Snooker Foundation monthly handicapped Snooker tournament of the season. North Devon snooker player Lee Halling came out on top with a 2-1 win over Andy Symons-Rowe from Tavistock. For just £5 entry players had a full days snooker and a chance take home a slice of the guaranteed £200 prize fund thanks to tournament sponsors Rileys.

In the semi finals Halling beat the in-form Nick Kenny also from North Devon 2-0 whilst Symons-Rowe beat Andy Neck from Newton Abbot by the same score, aided by a 74 break. Notwithstanding handicaps the quarters went to form with Neck beating Mark Field 2-0, Halling beating Chris Coumbe (Plymouth) 2-0, Kenny beating Michael Day (Plymouth) 2-0. The only close encounter was Andy Symons 2-1 win over the improving Chris Hobson (Paignton).

The group stages produced the some excellent snooker. Kenny topped group A with Field in second place, notable breaks coming from Kenny 42 and John Gaydon (Barnstaple) 44 & 30. Group B included some of the best cueist in the region, Neck won the group aided by a 61 break ahead of Halling. There were further breaks from Brookshaw (Plymouth) 48,49,62 & 66 and Wayne Branton (Plymouth) 50,50 and a magnificent 128 total clearance which took the tournament break prize. Symons-Rowe won group C edging Day into second spot with breaks of 76 & 67. Other breaks included Jon White (Barnstaple) 41 and Lewis Colclough (Paignton) 44. Hobson won group D with Coumbe the other qualifier.

The next WEBSF Open Handicapped Tournament is on December 17th at Riley’s, Plymouth. The format will be a DOUBLE ELIMINATION, best of seven frames, which gives players two chances to win the tournament. As well as the guaranteed £200 prize money, there is also a Xmas hamper for the winner. Entry is £5 and registration via WEBSF Facebook page in advance, or by 9.30 on the day at venue. Play to start at 9.45.

Report by Steve Canniford

Event 2

(Rileys, Plymouth)

Darren Bond Wins Open Handicap

WEBSF Open Handicap Event 2 Winner Dec 2011
WEBSF Open Handicap Event 2 Winner


Event 3

(Rileys, Plymouth)

Andy Neck Wins Open Handicap

WEBSF Open Handicap Event 3 Winner Jan 2012
WEBSF Open Handicap Event 3 Winner


January 2012

Lee McArthur 3 v 4 Adam Lewin
Mike Ford v Pete Beckwith w/o
Grant Cole 3 v 4 Andy Neck
Mike Day 1 v 4 Jez Graham
Nick Kenny 3 v 4 Joe Murray
Lee Walters 0 v 4 Darran Lock
Alex Dunlop 4 v 1 Lee Tudge
Chris Batey 1 v 4 Haydon Pinhey
Jay Bullen 4 v 0 John Gaydon
Justin Yau 4 v 2 Dan Legassick
Jordan Whittaker 1 v 4 Jamie Graham
Wayne Branton 4 v 3 Matt Pincombe
Sheridan Tetley 3 v 4 Mitch Wood

Last 16
Lee McArthur 3 v 4 Pete Beckwith
Joe Murray 1 v 4 Darran Lock
Jamie Graham 4 v 0 Wayne Branton
Mitch wood 4 v 2 Jake Frank
Cody Hall 3 v 4 Steve Slade
Andy Neck 4 v 2 Jez Graham
Alex Dunlop 2 v 4 Haydon Pinhey
Jay Bullen 4 v 2 Justin Yay

Quarter Finals
Darran Lock 4 v 0 Haydon Pinhey
Pete Beckwith 2 v 4 Andy Neck
Jay Bullen 3 v 4 Jamie Graham
Mitch Wood 1 v 4 Steve Slade

Semi Finals
Andy Neck 4 v 1 Darran Lock
Jamie Graham 2 v 4 Steve Slade

Andy Neck 4 v 1 Steve Slade

Results by Wayne Branton

Event 4

(Rileys, Plymouth)

Greg Batten Wins the Battle of the Tivertonians

WEBSF Open Handicap Event 4 Winner Feb 2012
WEBSF Open Handicap Event 4 Winner


February 2012


Gary Weeks 3 v 0 Lewis Colclough

Darran Lock 3 v 2 Alex Dunlop

Mike Day 3 v 1 Chris Hobson

Dan Legassick 1 v 3 Jake Stewart

Lee McArthur 3 v 2 Andy Neck

Jordan Whittaker 0 v 3 Darren Bond

Lee Walters 0 v 3 Jay Bullen

Chris Batey 3 v 2 Haydon Pinhey

Joe Murray 1 v 3 Mark Legassick

Last 16 Gary Weeks 3 v 0 Darran Lock

Mike Day 1 v 3 Jake Stewart

Lee McArthur 1 v 3 Darren Bond

Jay Bullen 3 v 0 Chris Batey

Mark Legassick 3 v 0 Cody Hall

Adam Lewin 2 v 3 Jamie Graham

Wayne Branton 0 v 3 Darren McVicar

Jez Graham 1 v 3 Greg Batten


Quarter Finals

Gary Weeks 1 v 3 Jake Stewart

Darren Bond 3 v 0 Jay Bullen

Mark Legassick 3 v 2 Jamie Graham

Darren Mcvicar 0 v 3 Greg Batten


Semi Finals

Jake Stewart 2 v 3 Darren Bond

Mark Legassick 1 v 3 Greg Batten



Darren Bond 2 v 3 Greg Batten


Plate Final

Lee Walters v Wayne Branton (split Money)



Gary Weeks 72

Mike Day 57

Greg Batten 40, 51, 52, 72, 72

Chris Batey 57

Andy Neck 67

Jay Bullen 62, 40, 40, 50

Darren Bond 105

Lee Walters 74

Wayne Branton 51, 109

Results by Wayne Branton





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.